Recent Searches
Clear

Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

|
Athina, Greece
Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Discover some of Greece’s greatest treasures and the best of modern Athens on this morning or afternoon Athens sightseeing tour. With an expert guide, take a coach tour of top Athens sites, including the Greek Parliament and Panathenaic Stadium, stage of the first modern Olympic Games. Then, explore the mighty Acropolis on foot to see the glorious Parthenon and other highlights. Want to add more sightseeing in Athens? Upgrade your morning tour to include entry to the Acropolis Museum to see its incredible Parthenon friezes, and other archaeological exhibits.
  • Sightseeing tour of Athens, combining modern Athens with the city’s ancient sites
  • See top Athens attractions such as the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier in Constitution Square and Panathenaic Stadium
  • Visit the Roman Temple of Olympian Zeus and learn about ancient Athens
  • Explore the Acropolis of Athens and see the world-famous Parthenon temple
  • Upgrade to include an entrance ticket to Athens Acropolis Museum
  • Transport by luxury air-conditioned coach with free WiFi
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Air-conditioned vehicle
Hotel pickup (selected hotels only)
Entrance ticket of Acropolis
Entrance ticket of Acropolis Museum (if selected option with museum)
Gratuities
Food and drinks
Pick up from Piraeus port, airport, airbnb and apartments

Departure Point

Leoforos Vasilisis Amalias 10, Athina 105 57, Greece

hotel Amalia Athens - Syntagma square

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Book your chosen tour option and meet your guide in central Athens. Then, set off on your Athens sightseeing tour by luxury air-conditioned coach.

Hear insightful commentary from your guide, and pass top Athens attractions including the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, Greek Parliament building, and Presidential Palace, the home of Greece’s royals until the monarchy ended in 1974.

See the Panathenaic Stadium, the venue of the first modern Olympic Games in 1896. Then, drive along Panepistimiou Avenue to snap photos of the National Library and one of Greece’s most revered orthodox churches.



After your coach tour, see two Athens’ historical treasures on foot. View the exterior of the Temple of Olympian Zeus — a gigantic, semi-ruined edifice completed in the 2nd century AD—as your guide explains its turbulent history.

Continue to Athens’ showpiece: the Acropolis. Stroll up to the UNESCO-listed site that served as the ancient citadel, and tour the buildings as you hear how they reflected Athens’ prosperity in the 5th century BC.

Admire the magnificent Parthenon, and see monuments including the Propylaea gateway and stunning Temple of Athena Nike. 

After time to explore the rest of the site independently, return to your coach and end your tour back at the start point.

Morning Tour plus Acropolis Museum:
 Make the most of your time at the Acropolis by upgrading the morning tour to include entry to the Athens Acropolis Museum, one of the world’s top museums.

Show your entrance ticket and explore independently. Walk around the spectacular Parthenon Hall to ogle the incredible sculptures of the Parthenon frieze, and roam the other galleries to view more than 4,000 other ancient objects.

Your ticket lets you spend as long as you wish inside the museum.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Acropolis
the must when you visit Athens
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Parthenon
The temple of Athena
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Pass By:  
Theater of Dionysus
the theater of Acropolis
Pass By:  
Herod Atticus Odeon
famous odeon of Acropolis
Stop At:  
Panathenaic Stadium
the satdium of first modern Olympics
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Pass By:  
Plateia Syntagmatos
the city center of Athens
Pass By:  
Tomb of the Unknown Soldier
memorial monument at Greek Parliement
Stop At:  
Erechtheion
Ancient temple
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Temple of Athena Nike
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Pass By:  
National Library of Greece
Library of Athens
Stop At:  
Propylaea
Entrance of Acropolis
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Pass By:  
The Academy of Athens
university of Athens
Pass By:  
The Academy of Athens
Greek academy
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Due to COVID19 protocols all tourists must have smartphones with headphones and charged batteries to listen their guide in the museums and arch. sites due to the social distancies.
  • IMPORTANT: Due to existing Civid 19 protocols please have with your copy of your Vaccination or PCR test
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • French speaking available ONLY on Monday,Wednesday,Friday and Sunday.
  • Very important: Children , students aged 5 to 18 years old must hold passport or ID in order to get the discounted price. Otherwise they will pay entrance ticket to the Archaelogical sites or Museums.
  • Guides allowed only through the mobile App to guide in the archaeological sites and museums
  • Your guide will give you your entry tickets to the sites and museums
  • Port or private apartment pickup are not available
  • Afternnon tour only with English speaking guide
  • Social distancing: Maintain distance of 1.5 meters
  • Mask: is mandatory for clients and staff
  • Hand cleaning: Visitors are asked to wash their hands regularly and use the hand sanitizers that are in place.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • People with fever (≧ 37 ℃) with issues like cold, runny nose, sneezing, sore throat, mild cough, or shortness breath cannot participate.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY CHAT Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
How can I let you know where to pick me up?
A:We offer pick ups from most hotels. Let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
Jul 2019
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.0
star-4
768 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 768 reviews
star-5
my trip to Greece
esirrieh
, Sep 2021
This tour gives a good overview of Athens with a visit to Acropolis. I would recommend it with also a visit to the museum.
star-2
Just buy your acropolis ticket
Erica_S
, Sep 2021
The reason we chose this tour was because transportation was included. If you’ve been to Athens you know visiting the Acropolis is a grueling hike on its own. The tour company emailed the night before to say they wouldn’t be picking us up due to roads being closed for an event and we’d have to meet the bus like…right outside the acropolis entrance. So pointless. Then the bus didn’t even bother to show up for the ride back. Skip the museum. I contacted the tour group for a partial refund and was denied.
star-4
Learn a lot with a little time
A_M_O_H
, Sep 2021
Overall fantastic introduction to historic Athens. Early portion of the tour provided a great overview of the area with some fun stops and drive-bys of must-see locations! Our Guide Joy was knowledgeable and accommodating with a great mix of historic storytelling and awareness of what the group needed. The only reason we only offer four stars is that we felt slowed by some in the group due to physical limitations. The hike to the Acropolis is not an easy one and making guests aware of that, or having options for different levels of physical stamina would help guests choose the option that best fits them vs some being quick to the top with others lagging behind and causing the entire group to slow. Everyone deserves to see these historic sites but it would be easier for all travelers if there is a strong communication of what to expect so that they can make choices that are the best suited for their needs. All in all, a great tour in a fabulous city.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Not great
Kim_D
, Sep 2021
The tour guide did not give very much information. We could have learned more from the HoHo bus. Not worth the money.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Worth the time
Bob_H
, Sep 2021
Excellent tour guide and a great overview of the history and context of the restoration process. The tour also got our group up to the top of the acropolis in a reasonable/easy amount of time (so everyone was together with no stragglers) AND early enough to avoid the crowds and heat. **1 negative note was the use of the TRIPI light audio system. That was a total failure and not worth the attempt - the tour people need to get rid of it.
star-5
I would recommend this highly!
Patricia_S
, Aug 2021
What a great day! Tour was perfectly timed for the hot day. Joy was our guide. She was so EnJOYable very knowledgeable and entertaining!
star-3
Acropolis amazing the rest just by bus!!!
Giuseppina_M
, Aug 2021
Nothing to say about the really nice and professional guide and driver…the tour of acropolis was amazing with a lot of info but the first part was just 45 minutes by bus for the tour of a part of the city…tickets included in the description are not real…just a stop to the stadium and not other stops…better another kind of tour to see really the city!!!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Giusepina, we are thanking you for your review. Kindly be informed that in your ticket included full ticket of Acropolis which provided by us with skip the line plus all entrance tickets included on our given ticket and you was guided as all of them are located at the Acropolis hill. As per our itinerary on the 3 hours tour you had paid included 2 stops one at the Acropolis and one at the stadium and bus sightseeing of the city but not in silent the guide was with you in the bus and gave all the info for the city and the places tou passed by the bus. We agree that you cannot see Athens city in 3 hours including visit of Acropolis for 2 hours which is the landmark but our professional guides try to show and speak for all highlights! Kind regards Hara Kritikidou Customer Service Manager
star-2
Not worthy , but maybe we were unlucky
belen_m
, Aug 2021
We were very disappointed. We were picked up at 7.40 for a tour that latest till 11 but in fact spent lots of time *waiting* and spent only 45 m on the bus tour and 45m on the acropolis site with the guide. The guide had best intentions but her explanations were very poor, less that what was written on the info posters on the site, very static and factual and even short on facts, ie no ref to Pericles or Phidias. No historical context etc one expects a guide to provide an extra insight into the historical and art context, but for ex there were no ref to the foundations of Athens etc, just brushes of facts. We were told to download and app that we did not use. Finally, the tour was on offer the day before for 10 euros less on your site, we paid the acropolis tickets more expensive (20) than those buying individually (8) but even so, between 20 and the 65 euros per person for a bus ride and an average guide…not worthy This being said I am very grateful for the organisation to accommodate the change of tickets. I also admit that the guide had best intentions and she was fluent both in EN and FR and kept translating to both languages which made it more challenging.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear clients, we are thanking you for your review and we feel that we have to clear some of your points like that we pick you up at 07:40 its true that we pick up our clients from their hotels earlier than the departure time of the tour as it is impossible to pick up all group on same time and this was clear when you book the tour. Plus we want to assure you that the price for Acropolis is for all adults same , it is Euro 20 per person and there is no cheaper price for none adult. The tour ends by 11:45 and not 11:00 as you mentioned. Our guides are licensed and some days in the week bilingual English & French and very experienced to handle the tours. Hope after our explanations to stop feel disapponed. Kind Regards, Hara Kritikidou/Customer Service Manager
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Not worth it
Emmanuelle_C
, Aug 2021
The tour guide was disorganized. Totally waste of time and money. The air conditioning dis not work on the bus. By far the worst tour I have had on Viator
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Please advise the date of the tour as we are really surprised because we never received complain that A/C in any of our bus was not working plus we have Professional guides (working with us many many years) and we need to know the name in order to investigate your case. Awaiting your kind reply, Hara Kritikidou, Customer service Manager
star-4
Facts and fun on a morning tour!
Teena_M
, Jul 2021
We loved Seeing all of the important ancient sites with a knowledgeable guide who provided historical information in an entertaining format!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour
Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

star-4767

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$65.66

star-4.56

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$81.18

star-3.510

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$47.75

star-44

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$72.98

star-00

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$83.57

star-4145

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$74.02

star-54

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.51

star-52

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.51

Explore Similar Things to Do