Recent Searches

Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Athens

star-4.5339 Reviews
Athens, Greece
Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Athens
Special Offer

From $51.18

$63.98  Save $12.80

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon4 to 5 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


Visit one of Greece’s most picturesque coastal viewpoints on a half-day small-group tour from Athens to Cape Sounion. Travel by minivan along south Attica’s scenic shoreline roads to reach the ancient Temple of Poseidon, built atop a towering sea cliff with fantastic views of the Aegean. Explore the ruins of this temple dedicated to the Greek god of the sea, and opt for an afternoon tour to catch a famously beautiful sunset.
  • Explore the ancient Temple of Poseidon on a tour from Athens
  • Round-trip transfers from your Athens hotel included
  • Admire the views of the Aegean Sea and learn about ancient Greece
  • A small group ensures a personalized experience
Saved to wishlist!
Local taxes
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Tour escort/host
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Food and drinks
Entrance fees to the Temple of Poseidon (10 euros per person)

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

Please arrive 45 minutes before your selected start time for pickup. Your operator can coordinate exact time and location.

Pick up and drop off is included from all centrally located Athens hotels and apartments. Just inform us during the booking of the hotel you are staying at, or apartment address. If the hotel /apartment is not accessible (e.g narrowness, pedestrian area) we will apoint a nearby meeting point for picking you up.You will receive an email from us us with the exact pick up time 48 hours prior departure.Please notice that pick up commerce 40 -50 minutes prior departure
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Don't forget to bring your swimsuit and towel if you like to swim
  • Starting time may vary based on the sunset time of each month
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Post Covid 19 Policy: Vehicles will be sanitized before every pick up. Hand sanitizing done before departure and after every major stop.Maximum 6 clients in a 12 seater minibus to secure social distance between tourists ( for shared small group tours only). All our vehicles will operated with 50% capacity ( for shared small group tours only). Face masks available for clients. Guides will wear facemasks and use microphone when guiding. Fresh trash bag will be place in every vehicle and waste will be destroyed at the end of the tours.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
How can I let you know where to pick me up?
A:We offer pick ups from most hotels. Let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
Jul 2019
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Athens?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Athens.
What is the policy on sanitization during Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Athens?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Athens.
What is the social distancing policy during Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Athens?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Athens.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Athens?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Athens.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "The countryside is beautiful and when you have a good group on the bus, it can be real fun." See review
  • "If you’re a small group we would recommend hiring a car instead and saving yourself some money." See review
  • "There is a 30 min stop at the beach where you can cool off before going to the temple." See review


339 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 339 reviews
A wonderful way to spend the evening
, Oct 2021
Wow, this was truly a fun experience and the best way to end my trip!! Let me just start by saying I am always skeptical of group tours - will they be a tourist trap?? I am SO glad I joined this trip! Teddy the tour guide made it an unforgettable experience. He provided so much value during the trip, recommendations for Athens and Greece, made it fun and offered so much knowledge that the car ride absolutely flew by. I would recommend this trip to anyone, even experienced travelers. The temple was gorgeous at sunset. You will not regret it!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Very Nice Tour
, Oct 2021
The Temple of Poseidon was awesome. We enjoyed taking pictures as we moved about the different parts of the site. Guide was extremely friendly and very informative as he shared the history of various parts of Athens.
Great Day Trip
, Oct 2021
Amazing day trip with great stops at a nice beach, which has restaurants and great views for pictures. The temple itself was incredible, we went for the sunset tour but I’m sure it’s just as amazing at any time. Our trip was made even better with our great tour guide Teddy who really knew his stuff and was giving lots of interesting facts and quizzes to entertain while on the bus. I would definitely reckon end this trip.
A Must see!
, Oct 2021
Teddy- our guide- was great and very entertaining. We arrived at the Temple just in time for a severe thunderstorm to hit- I guess Poseidon wasn’t in the mood for house guests that day! What an adventure. We would have gone back if had another day in Greece.
, Oct 2021
Did sunset tour. Good and relaxing. Bring your swim suit! Theodorus was funny and gave a lot of good information
Didn’t get a proper...
, Oct 2021
Didn’t get a proper sunset the evening I went but it was still stunning. I booked the tour solo and was pleasantly surprised with the size of the group. Our guide Teddy was great. He kept everyone engaged and made learning fun. Very conversational as opposed to making it sound like a school lesson.
Wonderful day trip
, Oct 2021
Our guide was fantastic. There was two of us on the tour and we all had a nice time during our trip. He was knowledgeable and shared a great deal about Greek culture and history. I’m so glad to have gone. Thank you
Fantastic Tour
, Oct 2021
From start to finish this tour was brilliant. Prompt pick up from our hotel in a air conditioned mini bus, our guide Stella was great. Friendly and funny, and always giving us info on what we was passing and recommendations on local sites, restaurants etc to visit. We stopped off at a couple of spots for photos (one being Lake Vouliagmeni,) where we stopped to stretch our legs and take photos, definitely a place to visit if we go back as it looked lovely. Next stop was was a beach at the foot of the Sounion mount with lovely views up to the temple. We was able to have a swim (I was the only one mad to) but we could also have food and a drink, we had a couple of cokes and just enjoyed the late afternoon sunshine. Next stop was the temple to watch the sun go down. It was a lovely experience with fantastic views across the bay. Unfortunately there was cloud on the horizon so we didn't see the moment the sun hit it but it was still magical. Had time to walk around the temple, and visit the gift shop before heading back and being dropped off again at the hotel. We absolutely loved it, and would definitely recommend it to anyone who is visiting Athens. It was a lovely way to spend our last full evening.
, Oct 2021
First of all know that when they say pick up at hotel this is NOT a true statement, it will be near by but they won't tell you that till 24 hrs before. They changed our location but because of spotty wifi in Greece we did not get the email in time so they left without us without even calling us. We called the tour operator and they put us on hold until it was too late to get on the tour and they refused to refund the money
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear sir, We are very sorry for the content of this review and we really feel we have to clarify the following:As we clearly indicate in the products description, section " additional pick up details " " if a hotel/apartment is not accessible due to pedestrianized area or narrowness we apoint a nearby pick up location within a walking distance".Your hotel was located in a pedestrian area and therefore you received clear instructions for a nearby walking distance pick up.This email was sent to you 48 hours prior departure and the reason you didn't received it is unclear and disputed .Greece works with a 5G network and there is wifi conection everywhere, so, we really try to understand how you never manage to receive the email while hundreds of clients do…!. Regarding the phone call you are mentioning, we do not use recorded messages. The phone indicated to all client's voucher is a cell phone for this exact reason! A direct reply with the stuff on duty! We really believe you should reconsider the content of this review as it addresses to Viator / Tripadvisor comunity and it is really misleading for both Greek wifi infrastructure as well as pre-activity comunication quality of the booked product .
Worst tour company
, Sep 2021
They emailed me the meeting place and time to the wrong email address. I missed the bus. And they will not refund me the money.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear Christine Regarding the review we received , we would like to inform you that we strongly disagree with the content. You claim that you received picking up instruction to a wrong email. But as you understanf we only have access to the email that you have provided to Viator during the booking,and consiquently we sent the instructions to the provided email...Our bus was at he meeting point and waited for you for 15'. This was a very inconvenient situation and definitely not our fault. We kindly ask you to check the data YOU provided during your booking and remove this review as this was not our company's fault.We have already contacted Viator / Tripadvisor for this inappropriate behavior on your behalf. Thank you.
2 travelers found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Athens
Special Offer
Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Athens


4 to 5 hours

Free Cancellation

$63.98 $51.18


6 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



5 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do