Recent Searches
Clear

The Acropolis, Athens Walking City Tour and Acropolis Museum

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Athina, Greece
The Acropolis, Athens Walking City Tour and Acropolis Museum

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Skip the long lines at the iconic Acropolis (ticket price not included), discover the Acropolis Museum, and enjoy a guided walking tour of Athens in just a few hours on this action-packed tour that’s tailor-made for history buffs. Along the way enjoy the single most elegant approach to the Acropolis: a stroll up the pedestrian walkway Dionysiou Areopagitou.
  • Experience Ancient Greece’s greatest monument: the Acropolis
  • Enjoy skip-the-line access (ticket at own expense) even at peak times
  • Explore the new Acropolis Museum with a guide
  • Soak up highlights of Athens, including the Changing of the Guards
Saved to wishlist!
English speaking professional guide
Athens guide magazine
Athens map
Skip-the-line service
Food and drinks
Hotel pick-up and drop-off
Gratuities
Entrance fees are not included; payed in cash on the spot
A valid ID or Passport is required for verification of age and nationality at the sites
Syntagma Square , Pl. Sintagmatos, Athina 105 63, Greece

Departure Point: Syntagma Metro Station Our staff, holding an orange Athens Walking Tours sign, will be waiting for you inside the Syntagma Metro Station, at the big hall underneath the hanging clock, next to the ticket validating machines. Please be at the meeting point 15 minutes prior to given tour departure time. Please be at the meeting point by 9:15 am as the tour departs at 9:30 am.

Acropolis Museum , Dionysiou Areopagitou 15, Athina 117 42, Greece
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT BABY STROLLERS. Please have in mind that baby strollers are not allowed on the Acropolis archaeological site and that there is no cloakroom at the side entrance we use to enter. For your own convenience, it is recommended to use a baby pouch instead of a baby stroller.
  • Near public transportation
  • ENTRANCE FEES (TICKETS) ARE NOT INCLUDED - Please make sure you have enough cash (euros) with you to purchase the tickets. We buy the tickets for you in advance, in order to avoid lining up. Note that we are only allowed by the Museum to pre-buy adult tickets.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • A valid passport or ID is required for verification at the sites for youths under 25 years of age and any person entitled to reduced entrance at the sites
  • Small Group: max. persons per group: for the Acropolis visit 15 - for the Acropolis Museum visit 7
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Athens Walking Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during The Acropolis, Athens Walking City Tour and Acropolis Museum?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by The Acropolis, Athens Walking City Tour and Acropolis Museum.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during The Acropolis, Athens Walking City Tour and Acropolis Museum?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by The Acropolis, Athens Walking City Tour and Acropolis Museum.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during The Acropolis, Athens Walking City Tour and Acropolis Museum?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by The Acropolis, Athens Walking City Tour and Acropolis Museum.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during The Acropolis, Athens Walking City Tour and Acropolis Museum?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by The Acropolis, Athens Walking City Tour and Acropolis Museum.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "It's a lot of walking so bring good walking shoes and plenty of energy." See review
  • "May be tough for older people (over 75) due to climbing approximately 40 stories." See review
  • "The tour was tiring (of course, since we had to go up the acropolis), but well worth it!" See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
214 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 214 reviews
star-5
A great way to see Athens
Barbara_S
, Sep 2021
This was a comprehensive tour of the historic parts of the city and the magnificent Acropolis. We covered about 3.5 miles overall, and there were some steps and climbing involved, but it wasn't too bad. We saw the changing of the guard at the Parliament building, part of the gardens, Hadrians Arch, the city center, and, of course, the entire Acropolis. Sissy, our guide, was very knowledgeable and brought some of the mythology of Ancient Athens more relevant to today's world. The museum was a bit rushed, but we had a delay in the middle of the day due to one of the guests, and it took a little time away from the time at the end. Still, Sissy did her best to get us done on time.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Barbara, thank you for your lovely feedback. We are very glad that you were satisfied with both your tour and your guide. We are proud of our guides, because apart from being knowledgeable and experienced, they are also very attentive to guests' needs. Even though there was an unpredicted delay, Sissy did everything in her power to finish on time, without sacrificing quality. This is our philosophy, to go above and beyond what is expected in order to keep our guests happy. We expect you again soon in beautiful Athens, and untill then, keep collecting beautiful moments!
star-5
Friends and I only had...
Zoila_D
, Sep 2021
Friends and I only had the day to see Athens and this was perfect! Fotini was an amazing guide! The only downside was how little time we spent in the new acropolis museum other than that it was great!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Zoila, we really appreciate your kind feedback! Fotini will be very happy to read your comment! Our guides are very knowledgeable and talented individuals, who do their very best to give you valuable information within the prearranged time. Usually, our Acropolis museum tours last one hour and a half, which is plenty of time to explore the most significant exhibits. Of course, we have private and semi-private tour options where you can get to choose how much time you want to spend at each section. Perhaps next time you visit Athens, we can give you a private tour at the Acropolis Museum, for limitless enjoyment. Until then, keep collecting beautiful memories.
star-5
Amazing
Shaun_H
, Sep 2021
Beyond knowledgeable and very very accommodating for us since we got our days mixed up. Thank you soooooo much!!!! Loved every bit of it!!!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for the heart-warming boost! We love it when we read such enthusiastic reviews! We are glad that everything turned out fine, and hope to host you again in Athens very soon!
star-5
Amazing guided visit : Athènes in half a day
Mathias_C
, Aug 2021
We had a great visit with Elly. Say was able to answer to all our question , and was clear and precise in her explanations. Small group are definitely a good thing for such visit . Many thanks ! Sarah and Mathias
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you Sarah and Mathias! We are happy when we make our guests happy! Hope to have you again on one of our tours.
star-5
Great tour
Paz
, Aug 2021
Super nice tour to learn about the history and main monuments of Greece. The tour is exactly as described in the details. Our guide Annie was great, she is very nice and knowledgeable and made the tour very enjoyable. We recommend it!
star-3
Needs a few adjustments
Michael_N
, Jul 2021
Pros: The guide was very knowledgeable and taught us a lot more than we'd ever learn on our own. She was smart and friendly, and was very strategic about leading us to shady, cool areas to get a break from the sun while discussing the history of the sites. Cons: The Temple of Zeus is a waste of time and money. It's basically a barren lot with a handful of columns and a few ground markings. They should remove it from the tour to allow more time at the Acropolis. We felt really rushed - which is a Very Bad Thing when you're visiting a once-in-a-lifetime site - and we didn't get nearly as many pictures as we wanted. It just felt like we were sprinting around the temples. I'd give the tour 5 stars if they skipped Zeus and gave us that extra half hour at the main attraction.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to share your much-appreciated comments regarding your experience. We are always happy when the valuable feedback of our visitors makes us become even better! We are glad you found your guide knowledgeable, amicable, and oriented to your needs! We are sorry, however, that you did not enjoy your visit to the temple of Zeus. It is considered a magnificent example of Greek ancient architecture and is admired by many visitors every day. The city tour you selected is more complete than the Acropolis-only tour in the sense that it includes more sites and activities, giving you a comprehensive overview of the historical center of Athens. It allocates a full hour and a half to the Acropolis hill and the respective temples, which for most guests is enough to enjoy the monuments involved and their history. We do, however, have private customized tours that let you decide how much time you wish to dedicate to each monument, which may have been your preferred option, as well as small group tours that only visit the Acropolis. Thank you once again for your feedback and hope to see you again in Athens for a customized private satisfying experience!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fun experience!
Sharon_Z
, Sep 2020
Vicki is really lovely and knowledgable. It was a fun experience indeed on a Sunday morning! Thanks!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour, amazing guide!
Joe_Q
, Jul 2020
Our tour, and our guide Despina, was amazing! This 5.5-hour tour starts at the Syntagma metro station (which is also a museum) and continues to the Temple of Olympian Zeus & Hadrian’s Arch. After explaining the temple & Arch, she gave us 10 mins to walk around & take photos. We then took a break for Greek yoghurt, water, & gelato. Then it was off to the Acropolis. (Our tour guide bought everybody’s entry tickets to all 3 attractions ahead of time, we just gave her cash for the tickets when the tour started so we skipped the ticket lines). We stopped at both theaters on the way to the top for explanation & photos. At the top of the Acropolis, we stopped at the entrance columns, the Parthenon, and the Erechtheion temple for explanation & photos. After the tour, we were given 20 mins to roam & take photos. Once complete, we walked 2 blocks to the Acropolis Museum and did a tour there (I would have been lost without a tour guide, just looking at old stones with no Real explanation). Overall, it was great. We stopped every 10/15 minutes for water & a seat in the shade. It was amazing, and one of the best tours we’ve ever done!
star-5
Tiring but well worth it
Arturo S
, Oct 2019
We really enjoyed the tour. Irini was an excellent guide, providing us with a historical and cultural perspective to everything we saw. We wouldn't have appreciated the sights as much if we saw it on our own. We also appreciated her being a "shade ninja", making sure that most of the talks were done under a comfortable shade. The tour was tiring (of course, since we had to go up the acropolis), but well worth it!
star-5
Great Tour!
greecean13
, Oct 2019
This was a great tour. Our tour guide Stevie was very informative and the group was small. The Parthenon and the Acropolis Museum were amazing! Make sure to use your ticket to visit the newly discovered city under the Museum!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
The Acropolis, Athens Walking City Tour and Acropolis Museum
The Acropolis, Athens Walking City Tour and Acropolis Museum

star-5214

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$71.90

star-4.5337

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$61.29

star-4.530

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$200.31

star-4.5392

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$37.72

star-4.5110

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$91.93

star-531

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$70.78

star-557

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$35.98 $34.18

star-00

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$152.05

star-58

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$57.75

Explore Similar Things to Do