Recent Searches

Distanced | Cambridge University Punting & Walking Tour Led By Alumni

star-4.5174 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Distanced | Cambridge University Punting & Walking Tour Led By Alumni

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Combine two classic Cambridge experiences into one tour—a walking tour of Cambridge University and a punting cruise along the Cam River. First, embark on a tour of the prestigious university colleges and get an insight into student life from your Cambridge University graduate guide. After admiring architectural highlights like King’s College, Trinity College, and The Senate House, hop aboard a traditional punt for a cruise. As you glide along the river banks, enjoy unbeatable views of The Backs, the picturesque parks, and colleges that line the waterfront.
  • Cambridge combo tour: Cambridge University walking tour and River Cam punting cruise
  • Enjoy a walking tour of Cambridge University, where Prince Charles, Sir Isaac Newton, and Stephen Hawking studied
  • Cruise down the Cam River on a traditional punting tour
  • Small-group tour limited ensures a personalized experience
Saved to wishlist!
90-minute alumni-guided walking tour
50-minute student-guided punting tour
History & anecdotes
Entry to Pembroke College and Trinity College backs (when they are open)
An insight into the Oxbridge application process
Graduate or current student guides
King's College Chapel entry

Departure Point

King’s College, King's Parade, Cambridge CB2 1SJ, UK

Return Details

29 Newnham Rd, Cambridge CB3 9EZ, UK
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ***Your punting tour will start from GRANTA MOORINGS on Newnham Road CB3 9EX i.e if you start your walking tour at 11 am your punting tour will be at 1 pm, if you start your walking tour at 1 pm your punting tour will be at 3 pm and if you start your walking tour at 3 pm your punting tour will start at 5 pm. Please make sure you arrive 5 minutes early for your punting tour. ***
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Cambridge Alumni Tours - Pandemic Health and Safety Policy Your health is our top priority, and we have put special measures in place to keep all guests safe both during and after your activity. Stringent Cleaning - We’ve increased the frequency of disinfecting surfaces and high traffic areas between each tour, and hand sanitizer will be available to all of our guests at our starting points. Social Distancing – We have reduced maximum capacity of our tours. Guests will stay at a safe distance during all points of our walking tour and guests will be seated further apart on our punting tours. We also ensure that all staff members will be wearing the necessary PPE and sanitise between each tour. Wellness Checks - Employees receive daily wellness checks to ensure they are healthy and symptom-free. If you or anyone in your group is experiencing symptoms, we will work directly with you to cancel or reschedule your tour. Please refer to our cancellation terms.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Cambridge Alumni Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during Distanced | Cambridge University Punting & Walking Tour Led By Alumni ?
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Distanced | Cambridge University Punting & Walking Tour Led By Alumni .
What is the social distancing policy during Distanced | Cambridge University Punting & Walking Tour Led By Alumni ?
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Distanced | Cambridge University Punting & Walking Tour Led By Alumni .
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Distanced | Cambridge University Punting & Walking Tour Led By Alumni ?
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Distanced | Cambridge University Punting & Walking Tour Led By Alumni .
What is the maximum group size during Distanced | Cambridge University Punting & Walking Tour Led By Alumni ?
This activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Distanced | Cambridge University Punting & Walking Tour Led By Alumni .

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips

  • "Provided all the skinny about all the well known Cambridge grads" See review


174 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 174 reviews
, Jul 2021
Walking around Cambridge with a tour guide that was very knowledgeable around the surrounding area was just a dream. What an amazing city. Really enjoyed the walk and then the punting on the boat.
A must do if you visit Cambridge.
, Jul 2021
Enjoyed all of the walking tour, the guide Joseph was very informative with an excellent sense of humour. Loved the anecdotes and due to the tour being run by present students it injects personal insight which makes for a more engaging time. The punting was also interesting from a different aspect, however i've forgotten the name of the guide who was equally as engaging as Joseph.
Classic Cambridge!
, Jul 2021
It was wonderful to see Cambridge through the eyes of current and past students. Especially loved the Chronophage and stories of where DNA was discovered for the first time - amazing! Punting was great fun too!
An absolute must for exploring Cambridge
, Jun 2021
We were struck by how beautiful Cambridge is, the tour guide Georgie was amazing. She had so much knowledge and so many anecdotes it made the tour so much more fun and interesting. The punting was really good fun too and because it was such a sunny day it was great to relax on the river. I would 100% recommend this tour, there is so much to learn and fun facts, not at all boring. My friend and I absolutely loved it and I recommend this to anyone.
We wish we did not book this tour
, Jun 2021
I would suggest you do not book the combined your of punting with the Cambridge walking tour. The company they combine with, Granta Moorings, was very disappointing. First of all, it’s the farthest punting company away once you finish the tour. They have no toilets so they send you to the Pub next door and the Pub was not happy about this. It was pouring rain (happens a lot here in England) and they had no blankets or towels to wipe the seats. They did change the seat cushions but we were sitting in 3 inches of water. And we could get past that but the tour itself was totally unimpressive. The young man who brought us down the Cam was working hard but not well trained. He have erroneous information and a very spotty, limited, almost non existent tour. There has to be loads of history and anecdotes that could be shared. It was sparse and erroneous. He was a nice kid but the company didn’t seem to be training people well. He was also in a company “rain” jacket that left him soaking and freezing. This company Granta Moorings needs to learn how rain works. Just book your punting tour separate with a more experienced, reputable company. As far as the tour around the university, we hear her some interesting things. It was slow moving but we saw some areas and got insights from a graduate. He was working hard and knowledgeable. Most of my reviews are positive but the punting was so disappointing. Very unimpressed with the punting company.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Dear Lynette, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your walking tour with us and thought the guide was knowledgeable and hard working. In regard to your punting tour, we will make sure this information is passed onto our partner company. We will also issue you a partial refund for your punting tour. It's important to note that our partner punting company is a reputable student-guided tour provider with the longest punting tour in Cambridge (50-60 minutes) including an additional college (Darwin) when compared to other punting companies and it usually receives excellent feedback. We hope you have a wonderful summer! Best wishes, Cambridge Alumni Tours
Beautiful City Tour
, Apr 2021
Chris was a great guide and he really knew everything about the city, the university and all the important people associated with the two. We had an amazing, informative and funny tour and went home with a lot of knowledge about Cambridge...Highly recommend the boat tour AFTER the walking tour because it is super relaxing and fun.
I would not recommend it
, Jul 2020
Punting as a part of my combo was cancelled without notice and tour was really useless. We just walked around King’s College as all tourists do without a guide
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
Dear Natalia, Thank you for leaving a review. We are very sorry your punting tour was cancelled. Unfortunately due to COVID, the council in Cambridge decided to postpone the reopening of guided punting tours to later in July and we were only notified about this a day or so before you arrived. We reached out to everyone who had booked a punting tour and offered to rebook them or issue a refund but it seems as if our message did not make it through. Due to the inconvenience, you experienced, we will refund you in full and would like to offer you a complimentary punting tour. Please send us an email or give us a call so we can rebook you at a later date of your choice. We wish you the best in your future travels! Sincerely, Cambridge Alumni Tours
Day ruined
, Mar 2020
I booked a Cambridge combo punting tour for my wife’s birthday. We had traveled from derby. Just as we left our hotel for the tour I received a message that the walk was on but the punting was cancelled. Unfortunately the punting was something my wife wanted to do for a long time. They had no reserve students to take us so we had to leave that part of the tour. The walk was very interesting but I still have not received a refund for the punting.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Gareth, Thanks for leaving a review. We are very sorry to hear your day was ruined. Unfortunately due to the coronavirus, our punting company decided to close so we let all our customers know as soon as possible. In regard to your delayed refund, our booking system had recently gone through maintenance which interrupted the API connection between us and the Get Your Guide booking portal. Once you called us to let us know we immediately contacted Get Your Guide who then issued your refund within a few hours. In light of this situation and the inconvenience you experienced we would like to offer you and your wife a complimentary punting tour in the future. Simply send an email to when you are ready to book and we will get this confirmed for you. Sincerely, Cambridge Alumni Tours
Terrible Tour
Eugene D
, Oct 2019
This tour was all bad; Tickets were not reviewed and collected. Tour just started. Tour guide spoke quietly with no verve for Cambridge University. No inside stories, ie-this is the building where the double helix was discovered-. Guide spoke with a quiet voice obscured by the Cambridge traffic noise. NO audio aids to help hear the guide ( old common technology ) . Nothing positive about the tour. Decided to leave and take financial loss. Recommend — Don’t go
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Eugene, Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. As soon as we saw your review we called you to investigate your concern and you told us that you arrived 5 minutes late for the tour which had already started and you stayed for only 5-10 minutes before deciding to leave. When you arrived a team member escorted you to the tour group and because they wanted to get you to the group quickly for your own benefit, this resulted in them not checking your ticket. We also feel that staying for 5-10 minutes of the tour is not enough time to decide our tour is the 'worst tour possible' and we feel this is VERY unfair. Also, we do not advertise audio guides anywhere. We take our reputation seriously which you will see from our other positive reviews which are rated as excellent and very good 90% of the time. All our tour guides are given a carefully prepared script and receive full training. We wish you would have come to see the manager when you left the tour and reported your concern so we could have resolved the situation. Since speaking with you on the phone I have issued you a full refund. Best wishes, Cambridge Alumni Tours
Great tours
Phillip B
, Oct 2019
Our first student guide was Anastasia, she was witty and had a great sense of humor. The tour was detailed and entertaining. The second guide on the pudding trip was a hard worker he had just returned when he hopped on our punt then was off on another before we hit the dock. Bother great tours

Explore Similar Things to Do