Recent Searches

Distanced | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students

star-4.5120 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Distanced | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon50 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


Take to the water for a quintessential Cambridge experience on this punting tour. Step aboard a traditional punt and drift downstream on the Cam River, past the famous college ‘Backs’. Glide beneath the Mathematical Bridge and Bridge of Sighs; admire views of landmarks like the King's College Chapel and Trinity Hall; and listen as your guide unveils fascinating facts about the legendary university city. You can even have a go at ‘driving’ the punt yourself!
  • Punting tour in Cambridge
  • Glide down the Cam River on a traditional punt
  • Cruise past landmarks like King’s College, the Bridge of Sighs, and the Mathematical Bridge
  • Have a go at pushing and steering the punt
  • Choice of several departures throughout the day
  • Ideal introduction to Cambridge for first-time visitors
Saved to wishlist!
Local student-guide
Live commentary on board
Cushions and blankets for your comfort
See 9 famous colleges and 8 famous bridges
Free punt lesson if requested on the tour

Departure Point

Jesus Green, Cambridge CB5 8AG, UK

Meet our cashier at the meeting point who will get you booked on. Please arrive 5 minutes early.

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Cambridge Alumni Tours - Pandemic Health and Safety Policy Your health is our top priority, and we have put special measures in place to keep all guests safe both during and after your activity. Stringent Cleaning - We’ve increased the frequency of disinfecting surfaces and high traffic areas between each tour, and hand sanitizer will be available to all of our guests at our starting points. Social Distancing – We have reduced maximum capacity of our tours. Guests will stay at a safe distance during all points of our walking tour and guests will be seated further apart on our punting tours. We also ensure that all staff members will be wearing the necessary PPE and sanitise between each tour. Wellness Checks - Employees receive daily wellness checks to ensure they are healthy and symptom-free. If you or anyone in your group is experiencing symptoms, we will work directly with you to cancel or reschedule your tour. Please refer to our cancellation terms.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Cambridge Alumni Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during Distanced | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Distanced | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students.
What is the social distancing policy during Distanced | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Distanced | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Distanced | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Distanced | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


120 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 120 reviews
Such a perfect experience for whole family!
, Dec 2021
Sam our guide was very knowledgeable and VERY entertaining. He was able share a lot of information appropriate to both adults and children in a fun way. My kids (who are usually glued to screens) were happy to be out and really enjoyed the experience. Thank you for making a really lovely afternoon for us. Only small point, I would suggest if there are any delays, might be good to have a text update service, like appointment reminder system by text?
, Oct 2021
Arrived at Granta punting to find no one there, called the number provided on ticket and a man said you should’ve been contacted by them as it’s been cancelled. No email or call to say been cancelled so complete wasted journey. Luckily we went to another punting company. Full refund is pending.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Helen, Thank you for your review. We sent an email out to let you know that our meeting point had changed on the day but it appears that it didn't come through in time, for which you have our sincerest apologies. We have processed your full refund for the tour and hope you give us another chance in the future. Best wishes, Cambridge Alumni Tours
Fantastic experience.
, Aug 2021
A must have experience when you visit Cambridge. The guide was fun, and very knowledgable about the Cambridge colleges, bridges and their history.
worth every penny
, Aug 2021
Easy place to find and well organised. Guide very informative and best place to see college buildings from. thank you to our guide Murdo .
Nice complement to the walking tour
, Aug 2021
Sitting in the boat was surprisingly comfortable. Our guide Guy, Cambridge native but a student at Oxford, was friendly and shared personal and other anecdotes as well as historical tidbits about the bridges and the colleges. Some information was new, some was the same and some differed from what we heard in the walking tour the day before but we weren't writing a history book so weren't bothered.
1 traveler found this review helpful
, Jun 2021
Amazing experience, safe and funny. Very interesting. Beautiful sightseeings and confortable boat. Thanks!
Excellent Punting Experience
, Jun 2021
This was such an amazing activity. The crew were fantastic, very patient abs were super helpful. The tour was amazing, so relaxing and fun. I’m a plus sized gal and I was very worried about how my weight could tip the boat, but they were so reassuring and understanding. They all made me feel so comfortable. Very organised and well worth the tour. Would 100% recommend and would love to book again!
Relaxing and informative
, Jun 2021
Barney did a great job on his first day! Facts were presented with enthusiasm and was very engaging throughout.
Amazing experience. The captain of the...
Anjum D
, Oct 2017
Amazing experience. The captain of the boat was absolutely awesome.
Poorly organized agent at the meeting...
Chris h
, Sep 2017
Poorly organized agent at the meeting point has to keep checking who's there has to just remember online booking guests long wait in open sun past scheduled departure. Having a knee injury I asked if I could get a head start walking to the river - No, I'll walk slowly. When we finally did move he took off like a jack rabbit and our group we didn't know each other got strung out in the holiday crowds as he disappeared from sight. The marshalling point was in a field covered with cow patties, in open sun, and once again tickets and party sizes were checked. We were the next to last punt to board from the eroded and steep river bank, and crammed like sardines. Our chauffeur was good, with interesting banter for the mostly disinterested passengers. Despite his skill, the Backs were like dodgems and he couldn't avoid hitting/ being hit by other boats. He helped rescue poles for other drivers, and the whole trip was chaotic. Being a very hot Bank Holiday weekend, and overrun with tourists, my fiancée second visit to England cut short our Cambridge visit after this experience. I recommend to the Alumni group choosing a better meeting point away from crowds, with seats and shade, issue a colour-coded voucher once guests have checked in the first time, and can someone build a better boarding area? simple boardwalk or pier would help. Maybe the Backs need capacity controls and/ or a one-way system - drive on the right or on the left, not dodgem style. Note to ladies: wear jeans dark colour, flat shoes, a wide-brimmed hat, and don't worry about the cow dung. Not suitable for the mobility challenged or other than skinny people.

Compare Similar Experiences

Distanced | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students
Distanced | Cambridge University Punting Tour led by University Students


50 minutes

Free Cancellation



1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation




Free Cancellation



50 minutes

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



45 minutes

Free Cancellation



1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



50 minutes

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do