Recent Searches
Clear

La Paz Food, Wine and Beer Tour

star-4.531 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
La Paz, Bolivia
La Paz Food, Wine and Beer Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 travelers1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers9 travelers
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Experience Bolivia’s best food, wine and spirits on a 3.5-hour, small-group gourmet tour of La Paz that explores the city’s traditional foods and cutting-edge cuisine. Follow your local guide through a vibrant food market, sample freshly-prepared treats, and learn the most important ingredients of the region’s distinctive cooking. Taste your way through a series of Bolivian classics at a nearby restaurant, mix a personalized cocktail with local ingredients, then finish your tour with cheese and a tasting of lesser-known South American wines.
  • A 3.5-hour walking tour of La Paz’s food and dining landscape
  • Eat your way through La Paz, sampling everything at least six dishes
  • Try local specialties and lesser known regional wines
  • Visit a local market to see the exotic fruits and vegetables for sale
  • Learn about Bolivian food culture from your expert local guide
  • Small-group tour limited to eight people ensures a personalized experience
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Food and drinks
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Gratuities
Basilica of Saint Francis , Sagarnaga 173, La Paz, Bolivia

We meet at the doors to San Francisco Church at 6pm. Your guide will have red cap identification.

6:30 PM
Sol y Luna , Calle Murillo esquina Calle Cochabamba, zona Central, La Paz, Bolivia

Your guide can help you get a taxi afterwards or you can stay on to enjoy the place.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Maximum 8 passengers per group
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • If you have any allergies, please advise at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Gravity Assisted Mountain Biking
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during La Paz Food, Wine and Beer Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by La Paz Food, Wine and Beer Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during La Paz Food, Wine and Beer Tour?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by La Paz Food, Wine and Beer Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during La Paz Food, Wine and Beer Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by La Paz Food, Wine and Beer Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
31 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews
star-5
Delicious food
Josephine_F
, Apr 2022
Max was a great tour guide, he explained in detail each dish we ate and the history behind it. This is the second time we’ve had Max as a tour guide (first with the walking tour) and he’s been fantastic on both tours. Thanks Max from Jo & Sam
star-5
Well-planned and Well-done!
Paul_G
, Mar 2022
If I had to do my seven tours in the La Paz region all over again, I'd do them ALL with Red Cap Tours. The two that I did with them -- including this one with the wonderful Max - were well-thought-out, designed to give the visitor a broad overview of the culture, but with an awareness of the visitors' needs for comfort and safety.
star-1
This is a terrible tour...
Marjorie_H
, Mar 2022
This is a terrible tour operator they called me at 3:45 p.m. to say that I was late is that there were leaving and for the record the tour was supposed to start at 6 p.m. to meet at the San Francisco Cathedral they called me two hours earlier to say that I was late not acceptable and they refused to refund me my money if the tour was leaving at 3:45 the documents should have said 3:45 instead of 6 p.m. not my fault but being blamed don't ever book the store
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hello, This is absolutely not true. Are you in LA Paz, México?? Because what you are saying makes no sense. We can provide images of the call records which show that we called you at 6:05 (which is the only one you answered then hung up on), 6:09, 6:10, 6:12, 6:19. A member of viator then called us at 6:31. Apparently you told them that you had gone to the meeting spot, to which we said, the guide had been there since before 6 and was still there waiting. There was no issue with time or meeting spot, which was made clear by another traveler who booked through Viator taking the tour and loving it the same day/time as you. I would recommend you update the time on your phone and/or stop lying. You clearly made a mistake, and if you had said that, we could have come to an agreement for you to go another day, but we have call records, guides photos of himself at the meeting point and pics of the tour that transpired that same day/time which all prove that what you are saying isn't true. These reviews are importante and you should feel ashamed to lie like this, while our guide waited for you in the cold. Viator did not give you the refund you requested precisely because we showed that you were not telling the truth.
star-5
A great tour and tasty food
Valeriya_T
, Sep 2019
Chris showed us some lovely restaurants and told us a lot about Bolivian food, history and traditions. I can only recommend the tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Chris was our tour guide and he was...
Amy S
, Oct 2018
Chris was our tour guide and he was amazing. So fun and laid back, I immediately felt comfortable with his knowledge and education of the foods that we were able to taste. He was really fun and made this tour amazing!! Definitely recommend booking this tour with Chris!
star-5
Wonderful tour! Lots to eat, maybe a...
Suzanne O
, Mar 2018
Wonderful tour! Lots to eat, maybe a little too much. All local specialties and delicious. Highly recommend!
star-5
Loved this tour. I was lucky enough...
Jill M
, Nov 2017
Loved this tour. I was lucky enough to get two guides - Romberto was leading the tour, and Karen was learning the ropes. The food and drinks we tried were varied and universally amazing. Such a fun and yum night!
star-4
Remberto was an amazing guide on...
Flurin C
, Oct 2017
Remberto was an amazing guide on this tour. And as mentioned in other reviews, there really is a lot of food: Api, Pastel, different non-alcoholic and alcoholic berages, fritanga, sopa de maní, pique macho and desert. Wow. I was the only participant on the tour, because two other tourists had just cancelled. If it was possible in such cases to join other foodie tours of other providers so as to meet some other tourists the more, the merrier it would be a five star experience.
star-4
This was a great tour! The food was...
Sarah L
, Oct 2017
This was a great tour! The food was amazing but the guide was who really made the night! Thanks again for a great trip!
star-5
I wish I had an extra stomach! My...
Rog
, Jul 2017
I wish I had an extra stomach! My wife and I were the only ones on this private tour which was fantastic. Our guide, Chris, was on time, courteous, had great knowledge and really made the evening for us. Our first stop was in the local market where there were some great local characters always friendly and they looked after us with some appetisers. We then sauntered our way through numerous traditional stops and eateries until we came to a couple of bars. The atmosphere with the live music was awesome and you really get a feel for the night scene in La Paz. I genuinely believe you get a better quality of food in these bars then you would in a restaurant. At least that's how we found it! A warning for those - do not eat before hand. There are about 5-6 dishes and they are huge! Tasty, but be prepared to put on a few kilograms!!
star-5
This tour was excellent! We had...
Jeannie M
, Jul 2017
This tour was excellent! We had Marisol as our tour guide, and she was promptly waiting for us at the meetup location, and easily recognizable. She was very pleasant, spoke great English, and was very informative for us learning about Bolivian food and culture. We went to 4 spots during the tour and consumed essentially 5 full meals -- so full after the tour!!! Had I known it was going to be so much food, I wouldn't have finished any of them, to allow for room, or to prevent the bloated feeling because I did try to eat them all! LOL. There wasn't any wine on the tour, but there was beer, and also a local mixed drink, along with the experience of learning how to make it. I would recommend the tour 100.
star-5
I had a great time on the La Paz...
Poppy G
, Nov 2016
I had a great time on the La Paz Food, Wine, and Beer Tour! The guide was awesome, and he provided a great glimpse into Bolivian culture and food. We started at San Francisco Church and ate our way through the city. One piece of advice: DO NOT eat beforehand!
star-4
Vert good evening Sampled some...
james c
, Jun 2016
Vert good evening Sampled some local food and bars Highly recommend
star-1
Firstly red cap tours didn't have us...
Needra B
, Jun 2016
Firstly red cap tours didn't have us on list. Fortunately someone else had booked and the tour guide came for them. He also wasn't wearing a red cap which made difficult to spot tour guide in one of the most busiest areas. Secondly there was no beer/wine. Thirdly guide forced me to eat cow tongue
star-4
Our food tour with Daniel our guide...
Georgina N
, Sep 2015
Our food tour with Daniel our guide was great. We ran across some challenges with our hostel and had to carry our luggage around the tour. Daniel not only accommodated but he also helped us when he did not have to. The tour was had a great variety of food, and range of foods. It was a great way to quickly learn a lot about Bolivian foods!
star-3
Excellent way to try different foods...
Eddy O
, Jun 2015
Excellent way to try different foods from Bolivia.Requires a lot of walking. Tour guide was knowledgable.One big negative meeting point was different then what Viator told me so it was very confusing and almost missed the tour. I had to walk back to my hotel and have them call Red Cap to come get me
star-5
Fantastic Tour. Thoroughly recommend...
Triston L K
, May 2015
Fantastic Tour. Thoroughly recommend - note: DO NOT EAT BEFOREHAND - there is plenty of delectable delights on this tour and you wont be able to fit them all in if you have eaten a big lunch
star-5
Excellent tour by Sergio. Really...
Jennifer d
, Dec 2014
Excellent tour by Sergio. Really informative about the food but also Bolivia as a whole. We went to some super local places and tried things I had not even heard of. Tip would be to go very hungry as I didn't manage the last stop!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
La Paz Food, Wine and Beer Tour
La Paz Food, Wine and Beer Tour

star-4.531

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$30.77

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$13.34

star-00

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-59

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$39.00

star-00

1 day 4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$28.72

star-00

1 day 4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.77
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations