Recent Searches
Clear

Half-Day Delos Tour from Mykonos

star-3.5109 Reviews
|
Mikonos, Greece
Half-Day Delos Tour from Mykonos

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Exploring classical Delos without a guide could leave you just guessing at what it is you see and missing hidden highlights. Get the best from the island’s relics and hear the full stories behind the temples, sanctuaries, and artifacts on this half-day tour from Mykonos.
  • Visit ancient Delos on a half-day tour from Mykonos, including return ferry
  • Navigate the ruins with ease and with a guide for important insight
  • Discover musts such as the Temples of Apollo and stories you’d miss if alone
  • Includes choice of time slots, and upgrade for Mykonos transfers
Saved to wishlist!
Round-trip boat ticket to Delos island
Certified Tour Guide
Wireless tour guide system (Very important note: Loss or damage of the equipment will incure a penalty of 100EUR)
Taxes
All safety equipment
Skip the line at Delos site
Private or shared transfer to and from hotel or cruise-port (available on request at own expense approximately 8,00€ pp, each way)
Pick-up and drop-off
Alcoholic drinks
Drinks
Entrance fees to the Archaeological Site & the Museum (Payment in cash only, upon check in)
Gratuities
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Delos Tours , Kastro, Mykonos, Mikonos 846 00, Greece

Travelers must be aware that they need to present themselves at Delos Tours ticket booth (starting point) to check in and receive their ticket. Check-in closes 30 minutes before departure.

  • Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel , Platys Gialos 846 00 Greece
  • Mykonos Old Port , Unnamed Road, Mikonos 846 00, Greece
  • This activity will end right where it started.
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Please specify in Special Requirements upon booking if interested in scheduling hotel or port pick-up or drop-off
    • Bring with you camera, spending money, water and sunscreen. Bring some local currency with you for souvenir purchases. You may find it helpful to bring a small backpack along to carry belongings and purchases. Photo ID is required if you make purchases with a credit card.
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
    • Suitable for cruise ship day stops
    • Last minute cancellation or inability to disembark from a cruise ship, is not our company’s responsibility, therefore any refund requests due to such incidents will not be accepted. Should the client be aware of such a change, he/she is requested to communicate with our company more than 24 hours before the tour or activity starts, in order to discuss possible date or time amendment (subject to availability).
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Infant seats available
    • Refund requests for last minute cancellations (up to 24 hours before the tour or activity), for any reason, will not be accepted.
    • Check-in time is 60-30 minutes before departure time.
    • The booking voucher doesn't guarantee boarding the boat nor entrance to the archaeological site. Please make sure you arrive at the Delos Tours kiosk in the Old Port 60-30 minutes before departure time to check in and receive your boat ticket. Entrance fees to the Archaeological Site & the Museum, €8,00 per person are not included and need to be paid at the Delos Tours kiosk upon check in, in cash only. You will receive your ticket to the archaeological site when you arrive in Delos.
    • IMPORTANT COVID-19 NOTE: PLEASE BRING YOUR OWN FACE MASK OR PROTECTIVE COVERING. IT IS MANDATORY.
    • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended.
    • IMPORTANT NOTE: The minimum number of participants required for the tour to take place is 8. In the unlikely case that the tour is cancelled because of low participation we will inform you accordingly so you can re-schedule or arrange for a refund
    • Very important note: Loss or damage of the wireless tour guide system will incur a penalty of 100EUR
    • Following the Greek government's guidelines about Covid and the measures taken to prevent its spread, please indicate which option applies to your situation: a) I have been vaccinated b) I have been through Covid c) I haven't been vaccinated nor been through Covid the past 6 months. If options 1 or 2 apply, please have with you your vaccination or antibodies certification on the day of the tour to present it to Delos authorities.
    • Wheelchair accessibility only partially at Delos site.
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
    • OPERATED BY Delos Travel
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Half-Day Delos Tour from Mykonos?
    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Delos Tour from Mykonos.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitization during Half-Day Delos Tour from Mykonos?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
    See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Delos Tour from Mykonos.
    Q:
    What is the social distancing policy during Half-Day Delos Tour from Mykonos?
    A:The policy on social distancing is:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Delos Tour from Mykonos.
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Half-Day Delos Tour from Mykonos?
    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Regular temperature checks for staff
    See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Delos Tour from Mykonos.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips


    • "The site is quite extensive and can be very hot so bring water, food, sunscreen, a hat and good walking shoes." See review

    Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

    Reviews

    3.5
    star-3.5
    109 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 109 reviews
    star-3
    Family graduation trip.
    Misty_W
    , Jul 2022
    The tour was OK but it felt like it was a college lecture class. The guide was pleasant but her presentation was like a memorized script.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hello! We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We always pursue improving our services in any possible way to secure the best Delos experience for you. Our company cooperates with certified local guides who are passionate with the history of Delos and aim to impact their knowledge to all visitors in the best way possible. Hope you enjoyed the overall experience!
    star-3
    Could have been a great tour but...
    RANDY_F
    , Jul 2022
    This could have been an excellent tour, unfortunately, the boat ride to Delos was so crowded that several people had to stand up, including ourselves on the boat ride back, and we spent the first 25-30 minutes trying to get all the communication headsets to work and had to go with a completely different guide. Because there as so much wind, we could only understand about 1/3 of what the guide was saying. Several people gave their headsets back to the guide because it was too hard to understand anything. Because of this, we didn't even have enough time to walk the steps to the top of the mountain to see the rest of the ruins. Was disappointed because those 30 minutes could have been used to see them...that being said, the rest of the ruins we did see were great, especially the Temple of Isis and seeing some of the ancient cisterns and houses Dionysos and others. Again, could have been a great tour but over-sold boat tickets and communications tools were awful.
    star-2
    Might not be worth the cost…
    nicoledeaugustine
    , Jul 2022
    In theory, this would have been a great tour, but our guide was definitely a disappointment. I think it is the luck of the draw, but we should have just done the tour ourselves versus guided. Not worth the $ if all the guides are not the same.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hello! We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We always pursue improving our services in any possible way to secure the best Delos experience for you. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service provided. Our company makes sure to cooperate with certified local guides who are passionate with the history of Delos and aim to impact their knowledge to all visitors in the best way possible. The choice of a guided tour definitely enriches the whole experience and is something that we -as a company- highly recommend. Hope you enjoyed Delos overall!
    star-4
    A wonderful piece of history
    MARION_R
    , Jul 2022
    Great experience and opportunity to indulge in Greek history. With guided tour you're able to understand and make sense of what you see. Lots of walking and is expected. Highlights is going to the peak of mount Kynthos. Only reason why not given 5 stars is the Museum was closed to visitors but open for washroom which was a positive.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    We are so happy to hear from you! Thank you for taking the time to leave an excellent rating and review. It is true that the visit to the Museum (which is unfortunately closed due to renovation) would enrich the whole experience. However, kindly note that all Museum, washrooms and canteen are in the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Culture. All in all, we are glad that you enjoyed the overall experience!
    star-1
    Unhelpful, rude, unorganized, chaotic and something strange is going on with the way they vend the site tickets
    Timothy_C
    , Jul 2022
    Greece, Athens, Mykonos have all been wonderful. However stay away from Delos Tours. It operates more as a ticket scalping company than a tour company. They charge you full price at the booth for site entrance and then at the delos site the tour guide asks if you are under 25 and gives you a discounted ticket even tho you paid full price. Had I come to delos island on my own I could have paid the discounted price. I guess this explains why their employees are unknowledgeable on their own processes because they are more proficient in ticket scalping than touring. Every tour group ive used so far in Greece has been well organized and the staff friendly but delos tour is the worst tour I've ever been on in and out of greece. The Content of delos was very good but service and logistic was horrible, no one explains anything and I quite frankly got the impression they didn't know themselves which is why they were defensive and combative. Worst tour experience ever. As of writing this the boat hasn't even left the dock yet and I do not recommend this tour company. The staff so far are all incredibly rude and unknowledgeable on how their own delos tour process works. I waited in a queue 3 different times and no one could help or answer my question. (I prepaid online and just needed my boat ticket, to buy my site ticket and leave, simple enough...) I was sent from one queue to the next with no help or resolution. All queues were for delos tours yet none of the workers were on the same page and no one knew how anything worked. At least a sign or very clear instructions beforehand could have mitigated the confusion but minimum when one interacts with an employee they should offer solutions not create confusions or frustration. I'll get into it later but the gate agent was not offering solutions and was more interested in assigning blame to me, the customer. The whole check in experience was unorganized and chaotic. Adding to the long lines (that I had to wait in multiple times unessscarily) They were ALSO selling seabus tickets from the queue I was sent to. Which was slowing things down quite a bit, so after that queue person sent me away to yet another queue, I was the told to wait in that line AGAIN and with the added seabus patrons each wait was 10 min minimum. Glad I got to the port early. So frustrating. It would be easiest if the online ticket covered everything instead of this chaotic 3 step process (which is not clearly explained.) In hindsight it would have been best if I didn't buy my tickets in advance online with delos tours because the queue to buy the tickets sameday was empty and the agent there was not able to help people who paid in advance, also inefficient and kind of a poor use of your companies labor especially with labor shortages and challenges in the world. You have a worker who is not helping people just sending them away to the longer prepaid queue. So when you pay in advance you have to wait in a longer queue, which doesn't make sense to me. I'm glad I got to the port very early. (That was also a confusing point, one set of instructions said get there 30 min early some said 60 min early...which is it? Tourist don't have extra time to wait around at delos tour gate.) I work in hospitality at a world class venue, we NEVER put the onus on the guest. We always make sure our guests have all the information they need and we mitigate all issues up front. We never make them feel small or stupid for not knowing the instructions especially when they are not clearly explained. When I finally was in the correct queue I needed to be in. I delivered my tough feedback about the process, to your employee, your gate agent proceeded to argue with me. Which was rude unprofessional and embarassing. I told her I was done, that I understood her and that there was absolutely no reason for her to continue to publicly chastiste me at which point she raised her voice to me and said "WELL I AM NOT DONE!!!" I could not believe someone who I was trying to get help from was speaking to any person like this so I just stood there in disbelief and let her launch into a verbal tirade about how this was all my fault (even if that was true why would you say that to a paying customer???) I let her finish berating me and when she was done yelling, I pointed out to her that she was slowing down her own queue (earlier during one of my times in her queue she also very rudely told the lady ahead of me that she was holding up the queue and that she needed to go, so now I found it ironic that the gate agent was now holding up the queue unessscarily just so she could get the last word in with me)I let her know AGAIN that I did not need further explaination from her. I just wanted to go because at this point the boat was leaving shortly depsite getting there 1 hour early this ordeal up to this point took almost to departure time jeprodizjnf my ability to get on a boat ai prepaid for. The entire experience was so embarassing for me and quite frankly for her the employee. You never speak to your guests or any human being that way. So unprofessional. Fast forward to the Delos island. I am given a ticket by the your guide, she asks "are you under 25" one person in our party was so she hands us a 1 discounted under 25 year old tour ticket and 2 full price tickets even tho i paid for 3 full price entry ticket of 8 euro each at the delos tour booth I. Mykonos. That means the tour company got 4 euros back for free from my ticket. The tour company is charging tourists full price at the port in Mykonos but then asking for the students and under 25 so they can profit off the 4 euro difference at the delos site where the tickets are distributed and actually sold. Normally I would not care because it's only 4 euro but because this has been the worst tour experience ever I wanted my 4 euros back or at least I did not want them to go to delos tour. I'd prefer that 4 euros went to the delos site so they can preserve and restore it versus into the pockets of the tour/ticket scalping company delos tour. When I pointed this out to the tour guide she told me to "take it up with the ticket booth." When I went there they were just as confused as everyone else ive encountered and it was clear this was not the protocol. delos. After much effort on my part explaining to the delos site ticket office i finally got an 8 euro ticket (what I paid for) from the delos site ticket office. What an absolute mess and kind of shady to be honest. At the point of writing this I haven't even entered the delos site yet. Now the guide just came up to me telling me, she needed my name so I could resolve the ticket problem with her even tho that was the opposite of what I was told by this very same person just minutes earlier and at that point I had already been to the ticket booth and got the correct ticket (all by myself with no help from delos tours) all I wanted was my 8 euro ticket not a 4 euro ticket, when I told her I did not need her assistance and I had resolved it on my own her response was "Well that's what you should do!" WOW I cannot believe the way delos tours talks to paying customers...or other human beings in general. The disrepect was paltable and while I would normally assume positive intent and tell myself this was one employee with a bad attitude, given this was my expeirence with almost every delos tour employee, my guess is this a delos company culture problem. this has been a terrible tour experience. Delos tour is essentially scalping ticket, delos is supposed to be a professional tour company not a ticket scalping company. Using EU/Greece student/ under 25 discounts to pad their own profit while they pass it along to the tourists. I don't mind paying full price but what I do mind is allowing delos tour to charge me 8 euro and then they pay for a 4 euro ticket discount ticket and it's a specific discount for young people not a tour company discount that they are not entitled too. As I said before, I would rather that 4 euro go back to the archaelogical site to support the preservation and not into the unprofessional tour company. Again had I known all of this I would have just booked my own ferry and bought my own ticket to delos island because delos tour is doing something strange and it is more inconvenient to book in advance on viator with them and be sent from line to line than it is to just book on your own same day at the port. Essentially when you book with delos tour on viator you are booking on your own but you have to deal with delos who are unorganized and unhelpful. Cut out the middle man and put in a little extra effort up front it will save you LOADS of work and effort when you arrive at the port/delos site and you can have a relaxing and pleasant experience. The tour guide was pleasant for the rest of the tour despite the intial interactions however I know she could sense my frustration as I did not hide it all since she was the 5th or 6th delos employee I dealt with who could not assist me or answer simple logistical questions and actually made the issue worse. I will be telling my friends who are coming to Mykonos to avoid delos tour and viator and use another company or go to delos island alone. I will leaving 1 stars or whatever is lowest and will be copying this into the review. Everyone at the delos tour acted like it was their first day on the job from the two booth agents to the people waiting at the boat to the tour guides on the island. I can give grace and I can be patient and I always assume positive intent, but when you come at me combative, defensive, make you feel small, ridicule, embarass, raise their voices and yell at you and are unwilling to assist I will dish it right back to them. If delos tours reads this, please do not reach out to me, you had multiple chaces to make this right for me during the tour which would have savedy expeirence, but your employees could not so now it is too late you gave me a bad expeirnece and now you have to live with my bad review. It's only fair that people know what they are getting into. To Viator: you should really reevaluate selling delos tour company tours. They are a more a ticket scalping company than a tour company and their employees are rude and unhelpful.
    3 travelers found this review helpful
    star-5
    Wonderful tour!
    Stephan_P
    , Jul 2022
    We really enjoyed this tour of Delos! Our instructor was wonderful and very enthusiastic about the history of the island. We even had enough time to walk around ourselves and explore a little bit. Overall, 5/5 experience!
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    We are so happy to hear from you! Thank you for taking the time to leave an excellent rating and review.
    star-4
    Lovely trip ❤️...
    Yvett_T
    , Jul 2022
    Lovely trip ❤️ Thank you for the good organization and made this beautiful memories to our Greek holiday from Mykonos:)
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    We are so happy to hear from you! Thank you for taking the time to leave an excellent rating and review.
    star-5
    A must when visiting Mykonos
    SANDRA_P
    , Jun 2022
    Our guide was fabulous.she had a passion for the subject and was very knowledgeable. The boat ride was comfortable and very good. An enjoyable your, better than expected.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    We are so happy to hear from you! Thank you for taking the time to leave an excellent rating and review. We take great pride in our work and our sincerest hope is that it provides the best Delos experience for you. Your feedback has demonstrated that it does and we appreciate you letting us know.
    star-3
    Delos, beautiful, tour of it less so.
    William_B
    , Jun 2022
    Delos is great, the tour was not. The guide was not very understandable and did not provide enough information about the place.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hello William, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that the tour didn't meet up to your needs. We can guarantee that all our guides are knowledgeable and passionate about the history of Delos. Our goal is to provide you with the best Delos experience possible. Nevertheless, we hope you enjoyed Delos overall.
    star-5
    Loved it!
    Stephanie_C
    , Jun 2022
    Like time traveling back in Ancient Greece! AMAZING!! Great family experience : ) Scenic boat ride is added bonus!
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    We are so happy to hear from you! Thank you for taking the time to leave an excellent rating and review. We take great pride in our work and our sincerest hope is that it provides you with the best Delos experience. Your feedback has demonstrated that it does and we appreciate you letting us know.
    star-3
    A long walk to the boat!
    karenfischer1947
    , Jun 2022
    Delos Tours is a reliable honest company. Everything they include on Viator is provided. Pick-up and drop-off by private means is not necessary and much more expensive and there's no advantage. There's a boat at the cruise port that goes to Mykonos at the same drop-off location. After drop-off, be aware of the long walk & the time it takes to walk to get the boat that takes you to Delos and also the long line to check in & get tickets. The tour guide was informative and understandable but the group was large and there was a problem with the wireless system if you were at the end of the line.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Dear Karen, We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We always pursue improving our services in any possible way. We confirm that the drop off point of the transfer service from the New Port to Town is at the gate of Mykonos Town, approximately 400 meters distance from the pier to Delos which is within the pedestrian zone. Choosing the Delos Tour from the Cruise Port via SeaBus service is more convenient as there’s no need to transverse that walking distance. As for the wireless system, it works just fine within 200 meters away from the guide. Nevertheless, we hope you enjoyed Delos.
    star-2
    Terrible
    ami
    , Jun 2022
    Do not take this tour. The guide was informative and very knowledgeable but you will be in a group of 40+ people, where you can't even hear the headset most of the time because the walkways are small and the guide is so far ahead of you. The tickets say to be on the boat half an hour before departure but we were left not leaving for an additional hour (and then the boat went back to get people)-- meaning that we were stuck on a swealtering public ferry for 1.5hrs. Do yourself a favor and book a small tour or go to the island yourself for 1/3rd of the price, there are informational placards throughout the site.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Dear Ami, We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We always pursue improving our services in any possible way. We are sorry to hear that the experience provided didn't meet up to your expectations. Such delays are not a common occurrence and usually result from our effort to suit every client's needs. As for the wireless system, it is supposed to work just fine within 200 meters away from the guide. Nevertheless, we hope you enjoyed Delos.
    star-5
    Amazing history of the...
    Joseph_B
    , May 2022
    Amazing history of the island and greece. Tour guide was. Wry knowledgeable. Highly recommend. The architecture was amazing.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-4
    Amazing site, guide could have been better
    John_r
    , May 2022
    The site was great, but the guide spoke with her back to the group much of the time and was hard to hear.
    2 travelers found this review helpful
    star-1
    Tour cancelled few minutes after booking
    Nazim_P
    , May 2022
    I booked the tour late in the day, the day before the tour. I was getting ready to leave for the departure point, when I checked my emails and found out that the tour had been cancelled. Not enough people had signed up for it. I noticed that the cancellation came about 15 minutes after the booking, so not sure why Viator would show the date/ time as available when it really wasn't.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Dear Mr. Nazim Panju, I am afraid you must have confused our company with another one because you have already joined our guided tour to Delos Island just yesterday and your booking was never cancelled or amended. We look forward to seeing the correct review about Delos Travel and the experience you had with us on Delos Island. Thank you.
    star-3
    Beautiful Delos
    Peter_Z
    , May 2022
    Walking the Isle with a knowledgeable guy was great, but too short. The tour time included the ferry trip there and back. We needed more time on the island.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Greetings from Delos Travel by Viator. Thank you for taking of your time to review our tour and help us to improve our services. The Delos Guided tour is a four hour tour with 90' guidance, Passengers are welcome to stay longer on their own and return with any of the available departures without any extra charge.
    star-5
    A good tour very educational!
    Yuepeng_a
    , May 2022
    The tour guide is an archeologist and very knowledgeable. She can answer many related history questions. Thanks!
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-4
    Half day in Delos
    Richard_M
    , Apr 2022
    The time spent wandering alone around the sanctuary sites rather than the domiciles. Springtime was Elysian with all the flowers carpeting the ground.
    star-4
    Great experience
    Steve_V
    , Apr 2022
    Our tour guide Athina was very knowledgeable. The amount of history here is truly incredible. No shade, wear a hat or sunscreen and make sure you bring water. there is none provided and there is nothing to buy at the site.
    star-5
    History
    Blanca_H
    , Apr 2022
    Been able to see and heard about the history of this island. Walk around and take pictures as keepsake of the trip and the tour!

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Half-Day Delos Tour from Mykonos
    Half-Day Delos Tour from Mykonos

    star-3.5109

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $53.81

    star-560

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $142.93

    star-440

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $36.22

    star-3.527

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $49.67

    star-575

    4 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $97.27

    star-3.593

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $78.64

    star-595

    3 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $77.61

    star-00

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $99.71
    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations